The Financial Instruments data Model (FIDM™) is designed to structure and present information on all financial instruments.

The concepts of FIDM™ were designed and developed by ECOFIN between 1987 and 1991. Between 1991 and 2000, the model was extended in collaboration with , Telekurs Finanzinformationen AG (now SIX Financial Information AG) and representatives of Credit Suisse and UBS.

The first licensee of FIDM™ back in 1991 were SIX Financial Information AG, UBS AG, Credit Suisse, smaller Swiss private banks and the German data provider Wertpapier-Mitteilungen GmbH.

After the year 2000, major financial institutions around the world – banks, insurers, data vendors, clearing houses, hedge funds, software houses – adopted FIDM™ to structure their databases and to improve their application development.

FIDM™ consists of six core areas (“packages”).

APPLICATIONS

FIDM™ provides a comprehensive description and consistent nomenclature of the properties of financial instruments. This description can be used for a range of purposes, such as:

Structuring of Financial Instrument Databases

FIDM™ is a comprehensive and consistent concept for structuring information on financial instruments and therefore can serve as a blueprint for complete financial instrument databases.

In Switzerland, the financial instruments data bases of both the major banks and SIX Financial Information AG are based on FIDM™. Also a large number of companies in the financial sector are users the Value data Feed VDF of SIX Financial Information AG and therefore in part are familiar with FIDM™.

 

Application Development

When developing a large software system, such as a core banking system, a uniform systematic nomenclature is a key element of long-term success.

FIDM™ and the data model for description of positions and transactions, the “Middle Office data Model” (MODM), provide such uniform nomenclatures for the entire securities operations of financial service providers (banks, insurers, stock exchanges, clearing houses, etc.).

 

Digitization of Front-Office and Back-Office

The digitization of banks will quickly spread out to Front and Back Offices.

In the transition period, the success or failure of this process will be decisive for the future of the banks, but at the end of the process, digitization will become a standard and will not be a differentiating property of banks anymore.

A key prerequisite for successful management of the transition process is a consistent nomenclature and a comprehensive description model of the properties of financial instruments. This is precisely what FIDM™ offers.

 

Risk Consolidation and Risk Reporting in Banks (BSBC 239).

During the financial crisis, it was found that many banks were not in a position to bring together position, price and risk data from, in some cases, hundreds of database to enable proper risk control and management of the bank.

In 2013, the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) issued new principles and thereby massively increased the regulatory requirements for effective aggregation of risk data and for risk reporting (BCBS 239).

FIDM™ and the data model for description of positions and transactions, “Middle Office Data Model” (MODM), provide the ideal basis to meet these requirements.

Implementation of BCBS 239 in particular requires a consistent database or a system distributed databases for all financial instruments and positions. Implementation therefore requires exactly the same activities as required for development of a securities database and a position database.

The data models are the decisive factor for the success of the implementation of these databases. The data models form the basic structure for the necessary calculations and for aggregations over bank divisions and beyond. FIDM™ and MODM have been specially developed to provide an overall view of all positions, for the valuation of financial instruments and for calculating the required key figures. These data models thus form an ideal basis for meeting the requirements of BCBS 239.

The data models FIDM™ and MODM enable financial institutions to carry out key tasks within the BCBS 239 requirements:

  • Establishing a target vision: how shall the contents and organization of a large number of securities databases look like in the future?
  • Establishing of a bank-wide uniform nomenclature and of unique identifiers
  • Documentation of existing data models, the actual data content, data processes and data flows
  • Elaboration of a concept for a stepwise transition from the existing data models and data content to the uniform data architecture
  • Definition of data governance at executive level including competences and resources.

With support by ECOFIN, the uniform data architecture and the transition of the data contents according to the requirements of BCBS 239 can be managed within a reasonably short period.

«State-Of-The-Art» Valuation of Financial Instruments

Correct valuation of financial instruments requires all conditional and unconditional cash-flows of these instruments to be taken into account. The necessary information is available from a database structured according to FIDM™.

“UNBUNDLING” OF FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS

It was already known by the 1970s from scientific work by Stephen A. Ross that even highly complex financial instruments can be built from simple cash-flow structures.

In the late 1980s ECOFIN IT and finance specialists, in close collaboration with leading Swiss banks, applied this “unbundling” approach within the framework of FIDM™, to obtain detailed descriptions of any type of financial instruments.

Due to this modular principle, it is ensured that also future financial instruments can be described in the model and that the core of FIDM™ will still remain stable.

SCOPE AND LEVEL OF DETAIL OF THE MODEL

FIDM™ is powerful enough in terms of scope and level of detail to meet the requirements of major investment banks around the world in the areas of risk and portfolio management, securities management and risk control.

Advantages

FIDM™ is comprehensive, tried and tested worldwide, stable, future-proof and user-friendly with a strong international focus.


COMPREHENSIVE

FIDM™ enables comprehensive descriptions of financial instruments, i.e. of their legal structure and cash-flows, as well as of associated institutions, company events, markets, prices and geographical details.

TRIED AND TESTED WORLDWIDE

FIDM™ is used by leading international banks, stock exchanges, clearing houses and data vendors. These clients have developed a wide range of applications in different areas that have proved successful in day to day business.

STABLE

Financial market theory proves that – irrespective of their complexity – financial instruments can be represented as combinations of relatively simple individual building blocks that are easy to describe. This property and the modular design principle ensure that the “Financial Instruments Data Model” can still remain stable in a rapidly changing environment.

FUTURE-PROOF

The model offers new possibilities for the development of modern bank applications. The potential afforded by modern financial theory can be fully exploited as all the data required can be recorded.

USER-FRIENDLY

Even though highly complex financial instruments can be described with FIDM™, the descriptions are still easy to understand and intuitive due to the use of simple building blocks. Comprehensive documentation ensures fast, easy access to the subject for the user at all stages.

INTERNATIONAL

FIDM™ was developed right from the outset as a model to be used worldwide; the model therefore supports multiple currencies, languages, time zones, etc. National market rules are reduced to basic principles that can be interpreted in the respective context.

VERSIONS

ECOFIN has been developing and constantly expanding FIDM™ since 1987 (from 1991 to 2000, i.e. from version 1.0 and with version 1.8.1, in collaboration with Telekurs Finanzinformationen AG, Zürich). The latest release 5.0 dates from January 2016.

TECHNICAL OVERVIEW

Up to and including version 1.8.1, i.e. up to the year 2000, development was carried out with Telekurs Finanzinformationen AG and major Swiss banks. Version 5.0 has been available since January 2016. FIDM™ comprises some 5,000 descriptive elements.

Financial Instruments Data Model (FIDM™)

  • Version: 5.0 (January 2016)
  • Model Type: Unified Modeling Language (UML)
  • Descriptive Elements
    • CLASSES: 384
    • ATTRIBUTES: 1843
    • DOMAINS: 360
    • ENUMERATION VALUES: 2050
    • RELATIONSHIPS: 576
  • Platform: platform-independent

Documentation

Documentation is available in hard copy and on CD-ROM.

  • Languages: English

User Manual

The user manual is comprehensive and describes all aspects of FIDM™ in detail. In two volumes with a total of 1400 pages of text, explanations are provided of the techniques of modelling, the elements of FIDM™ with their background in financial economics and of all the relationships between the different areas of the model All classes, attributes and relationships are defined in detail; use of these is explained for a range of different situations. Illustration is provided by multiple graphics, supplemented by concrete examples. The user manual is available as a printed document and in electronic form. The electronic version in the form of HTML documents can be used with any Internet browser and enables quick navigation with the model definitions.

Data Dictionary

The data dictionary contains all the definitions of classes, attributes, relationships and domains with their corresponding enumeration values. The data dictionary is available as a print-out (1100 pages approx.) and in electronic format. The electronic version in the form of HTML documents can be used with any Internet browser and enables quick navigation through the model definitions.

Detailed UML Diagram

FIDM is represented comprehensively in an UML Diagram. All classes and their Relationships are visible at a glance. In addition, the User Manual contains about 200 diagrams showing the specific relationships between individual groups of classes. (oder wie MODM)


CONTACT


Andreas Glatter
E-mail: andreas.glatter@ecofin.ch
Telephone: +41 43 499 3040

DOWNLOAD


FIDM.pdf

Das Financial Instruments Data Model (FIDM™) ist ein Konzept zur Strukturierung und Darstellung von Informationen zu beliebigen Finanzinstrumenten.

Die theoretische Konzeption wurde von ECOFIN zwischen 1987 und 1991 erarbeitet.

Zwischen 1991 und 2000 wurde das Modell gemeinsam mit der Telekurs Finanzinformationen AG und Vertretern bedeutender Schweizer Banken weiter entwickelt.

Die ersten Kunden – die UBS AG, die Credit Suisse, die Telekurs Finanzinformationen AG (heute SIX Financial Information AG), kleinere Schweizer Banken und der deutsche Datenanbieter Wertpapier-Mitteilungen GmbH – übernahmen das FIDM™ ab 1991 für die interne Datenorganisation.

Etwa ab dem Jahr 2000 haben grosse Finanzinstitutionen rund um die Welt – Banken, Versicherungen, Data Vendors, Clearing Häuser, Hedge Fonds, Software-Häuser – das FIDM™ für die Strukturierung ihrer Datenbanken und für die Applikationsentwicklung übernommen.

Das FIDM™ besteht aus sechs Kernbereichen („Packages“).

ANWENDUNGEN

Das FIDM™ bietet eine umfassende Beschreibung und eine konsistente Nomenklatur für die Eigenschaften von Finanzinstrumenten. Diese Eigenschaften können für verschiedene Zwecke genutzt werden, beispielsweise

Strukturierung von Finanzinstrumente-Datenbanken

Das FIDM™ ist ein formalisiertes Konzept für die Strukturierung von Informationen zu Finanzinstrumenten und dient deshalb als Bauplan für eine Finanzinstrumente-Datenbank.

In der Schweiz basieren die Valoren-Systeme der beiden Grossbanken und der SIX Financial Information AG auf dem FIDM™. Über den Valor Data Feed VDF der SIX Financial Information AG sind viele Unternehmen mit dem FIDM™ in Teilen vertraut.

 

Applikationsentwicklung

Bei der Entwicklung grosser Software-Systeme, beispielsweise eines Kernbankensystems, ist eine einheitliche und systematische Nomenklatur ein wichtiges Element für den langfristigen Erfolg eines Software-Paketes.

FIDM™ und das Datenmodell für die Beschreibung von Positionen und Transaktionen, das „Middle Office Data Model“ (MODM), sind Systeme einheitlicher Nomenklatur für den gesamten Wertschriftenbereich von Finanzdienstleistern (Banken, Versicherungen, Börsen, Clearing-Häuser etc.).

 

Digitalisierung von Front-Office und Back-Office

Die Digitalisierung der Banken wird mit grosser Geschwindigkeit die Front- und Back-Offices der Banken erfassen.

Während einer Übergangszeit wird das Thema zwischen Erfolg und Misserfolg der Banken entscheiden. Am Ende dieses Prozesses ist die erfolgte Digitalisierung ein Standard, mit dem man sich nicht mehr differenzieren kann.

Zentrale Voraussetzung für das erfolgreiche Management dieses Prozesses ist die konsistente Nomenklatur und die umfassende Beschreibungsmöglichkeit der Eigenschaften von Finanzinstrumenten. Genau diese Möglichkeit bietet das FIDM™.

 

Risikokonsolidierung und Risikoreporting in Banken (BSBC 239).

In der Finanzkrise hat sich gezeigt, dass viele Banken nicht in der Lage waren, die Positions-, Preis- und Risikodaten aus teilweise Hunderten von Datenbanken so zusammenzuführen, dass eine ordnungsgemässe Risikokontrolle und Bankführung möglich gewesen wäre.

Der Basler Ausschuss für Bankenaufsicht der Bank für Internationalen Zahlungsverkehr (BIZ) hat 2013 mit dem Erlass von Grundsätzen für die effektive Aggregation von Risikodaten und die Risikoberichterstattung (BCBS 239) die regulatorischen Anforderungen an Banken massiv erhöht.

FIDM™ und das Datenmodell für die Beschreibung von Positionen und Transaktionen, das „Middle Office Data Model“ (MODM), bilden eine ideale Grundlage, diese Anforderungen zu erfüllen.

Die Umsetzung der Anforderungen von BCBS 239 erfordert vor allem den Aufbau einer konsistenten Datenbank resp. eines Systems verteilter Datenbanken für alle Finanzinstrumente und Positionen. Die Umsetzung verlangt also genau nach den Tätigkeiten, die die Entwicklung einer Valoren-Datenbank und einer Positions-Datenbank erfordern.

Entscheidend für den Erfolg der Umsetzung dieser Datenbanken sind die Datenmodelle. Diese Datenmodelle bilden die Struktur, aus der heraus die notwendigen Berechnungen und Aggregationen über Divisionen einer Bank hinweg möglich sind. FIDM™ und MODM sind speziell im Hinblick auf eine Gesamtübersicht über alle Positionen, die Bewertung von Finanzinstrumenten und die Berechnung aller notwendigen Kennzahlen entwickelt worden. Diese Datenmodelle bilden somit eine ideale Grundlage für die Erfüllung der Anforderungen von BCBS 239.

Die Datenmodelle FIDM™ und MODM ermächtigen ein Finanzinstitut, wesentliche Tätigkeiten im Umfeld von BCBS 239 zu bearbeiten:

  • Erarbeitung eines Zielbilds: Wohin soll sich der Inhalt einer grossen Zahl von Datenbanken inhaltlich und organisatorisch bewegen?
  • Erarbeitung einer bankweiten einheitlichen Nomenklatur und eineindeutiger Identifiers
  • Dokumentation der vorhandenen Datenmodelle, der effektiven Dateninhalte, Datenprozesse und Datenflüsse
  • Konzept für die schrittweise Überführung der vorhandenen Datenmodelle und Dateninhalte in die einheitliche Datenarchitektur
  • Die Definition einer Daten-Governance auf Geschäftsleitungsebene mit entsprechenden Kompetenzen und Ressourcen.

Mit Hilfe des Know-hows der ECOFIN kann die Umsetzung der Anforderungen und Dateninhalte in die für die Umsetzung von BCBS 239 erforderliche einheitliche Datenarchitektur innert sinnvoller Zeit erarbeitet werden.

 

«State-of-the-art»-Bewertungen von Finanzinstrumenten

Die ordnungsgemässe Bewertung von Finanzinstrumenten verlangt die Berücksichtigung aller bedingen und unbedingten Cash-flows eines Finanz­instruments. Die entsprechenden Informationen findet man in einer gemäss FIDM™ strukturierten Datenbank.

„UNBUNDLING“ VON FINANZINSTRUMENTEN

Aus wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten von Stephen A. Ross war schon in den 1970er Jahren bekannt, dass selbst hochkomplexe Finanzinstrumente aus einfachen Cash-flow-Strukturen „aufgespannt“ werden können.

In den späten 1980er Jahren haben Informatik- und Finanzmarkt-Spezialisten der ECOFIN dieses «Unbundling»-Konzept in enger Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Schweizer Banken im Rahmen des FIDM™ angewandt, um beliebige Typen von Finanzinstrumenten detailliert zu beschreiben.

Dank dieses Baukastenprinzips ist sichergestellt, dass auch zukünftig entstehende Finanzinstrumente beschrieben werden können und dass das FIDM™ im Kern stabil bleibt.

UMFANG UND DETAILLIERUNGSGRAD DES MODELLS

Das FIDM™ ist hinsichtlich Umfang und Detaillierungsgrad mächtig genug, damit es den Anforderungen auch grosser international tätiger Investmentbanken in den Bereichen Risiko- und Portfolio-Management, Wertpapierverwaltung und Risikokontrolle genügt.

Vorteile

Das FIDM™ ist umfassend, weltweit erprobt, stabil, zukunftsweisend, benutzerfreundlich und international ausgerichtet.


UMFASSEND

Das FIDM™ ermöglicht die umfassende Beschreibung von Finanzinstrumenten, d.h. deren rechtlicher Ausgestaltung und deren Zahlungsströme sowie dazugehörender Institutionen, Gesellschaftsereignisse, Märkte, Preise und geographischer Angaben.

WELTWEIT ERPROBT

Das FIDM™ wird von international führenden Banken, Börsen, Clearing-Häusern und Data Vendors eingesetzt. Diese Kunden haben eine grosse Zahl von Anwendungen in unterschiedlichen Bereichen entwickelt, die im täglichen Geschäft erfolgreich bestehen.

STABIL

Die Finanzmarkttheorie belegt, dass Finanzinstrumente – unabhängig von deren Komplexität – als Kombinationen relativ einfach zu beschreibender Einzelelemente dargestellt werden können. Dank dieser Eigenschaft und dem Baukastenprinzip des Modells ist sichergestellt, dass das «Financial Instruments Data Model» auch in einer sich rasch wandelnden Umwelt stabil bleiben kann.

ZUKUNFTSWEISEND

Das Modell eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten für die Entwicklung moderner Bankapplikationen. Das Potential, das sich aus den Erkenntnissen der Finanzmarkttheorie ergibt, kann voll erschlossen werden, da die notwendigen Daten vollständig erfasst werden können.

BENUTZERFREUNDLICH

Obwohl mit dem FIDM™ auch sehr komplexe Finanzinstrumente erfasst werden können, bleibt die Beschreibung dank der Verwendung einfacher Bausteine einsichtig und intuitiv. Die umfassende Dokumentation erlaubt den Benutzern auf allen Stufen einen einfachen und schnellen Einstieg in die Materie.

INTERNATIONAL

Das FIDM™ wurde von Beginn weg als Modell entwickelt, das weltweit eingesetzt werden kann; das Modell unterstützt entsprechend mehrere Währungen, Sprachen, Zeitzonen etc. Nationale Usanzen werden auf grundlegende Prinzipien zurückgeführt, die im jeweiligen Zusammenhang interpretiert werden können.

VERSIONEN

Das FIDM™ wurde seit 1987 durch die ECOFIN entwickelt und kontinuierlich ausgebaut (von 1991 bis 2000, d.h. von Version 1.0 bis und mit Version 1.8.1, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Telekurs Finanzinformationen AG, Zürich). Der neueste Release 5.0 datiert vom Januar 2016.

TECHNISCHE ÜBERSICHT

Bis und mit Version 1.8.1, d.h. bis in Jahr 2000, wurden die Entwicklungsarbeiten gemeinsam mit der Telekurs Finanzinformationen AG und bedeutenden Schweizer Banken geleistet. Seit Januar 2016 liegt Version 5.0 vor. Das FIDM™ umfasst rund 5‘000 Beschreibungselemente.

Financial Instruments Data Model (FIDM™)

  • Version: 5.0 (Januar 2016)
  • Modelltyp: Unified Modeling Language (UML)
  • Beschreibungselemente
    • KLASSEN: 384
    • ATTRIBUTE: 1843
    • WERTEBEREICHE: 360
    • AUFZÄHLUNGSWERTE: 2050
    • BEZIEHUNGEN: 576
  • Hardwareumgebung: Plattform-unabhängig

Dokumentation

Die Dokumentation ist auf Papier und auf CD-ROM erhältlich.

  • Sprachen: Englisch

Benutzerhandbuch

Das Benutzerhandbuch ist umfassend; es beschreibt alle Aspekte des FIDM™ im Detail. In zwei Bänden mit insgesamt ca. 1‘400 Seiten Text werden die Technik der Modellierung, die Elemente des FIDM™ mit ihrem finanzökonomischen Hintergrund sowie alle Zusammenhänge zwischen den verschiedenen Bereichen des FIDM™ erklärt. Alle Klassen, Attribute und Beziehungen werden einzeln definiert; ihr Gebrauch wird anhand verschiedener Situationen erläutert. Die Darstellung wird durch viele Graphiken und durch konkrete Beispiele ergänzt. Das Benutzerhandbuch steht als gedrucktes Dokument und in elektronischer Form zur Verfügung. Die elektronische Version in Form von HTML-Dokumenten kann mit jedem Internet-Browser benutzt werden und erlaubt ein schnelles Navigieren durch die Definitionen des Modells.

Datenkatalog

Der Datenkatalog enthält alle Definitionen der Klassen, Attribute, Beziehungen und Wertebereiche mit den jeweiligen Aufzählungswerten. Der Datenkatalog steht als gedrucktes Dokument (ca. 1100 Seiten) und in elektronischer Form zur Verfügung. Die elektronische Version in Form von HTML-Dokumenten kann mit jedem Internet-Browser benützt werden und erlaubt ein schnelles Navigieren durch die Definitionen des Modells.

Detailliertes UML-Diagramm.

Das FIDM™ wird in einem UML-Diagramm umfassend graphisch dargestellt. Alle Klassen und ihre Beziehungen sind so auf einen Blick ersichtlich. Das Benutzerhandbuch enthält darüber hinaus ca. 200 Diagramme, die den Zusammenhang zwischen einzelnen Gruppen von Klassen darstellen.


KONTAKT


Andreas Glatter
E-Mail: andreas.glatter@ecofin.ch
Telefon: +41 43 499 3040

DOWNLOAD


FIDM.pdf